How To Update Your Status During Standup Like a Senior Engineer?

If your project is following Agile, then you must be having this ceremony called Daily Scrum or Daily Standup in your calendar.

There are multiple approaches for providing your status update but I follow one rule i.e.

Keep it short and informative!

My update consists of 3 important motives :

  1. What I achieved yesterday?
    – If nothing is achieved (blocked or stuck) share a short summary.
    – If I took help from someone, I prefer mentioning their name.

  2. What do I plan to achieve today?
    – If anyone’s help is required for that, just let them know.

  3. Are there any potential blockers for my planned items?

In case, if you have some questions or doubts consider asking them towards the end of the meeting.

If you follow another technique for your daily status updates, consider sharing it with us!